Bamboo

Bamboo is one of the fastest growing plant known in the world. It is also one of the strongest natural materials, yet it can be easily processed by hand, making it a popular choice for purposes such as construction use down to the finest hand crafts. Bamboo is endemic to many parts of the world and being a readily available natural resource, the plant has consistently been utilised throughout history. How bamboo is used today can be considered as the result of steady refinement of techniques since ancient times.  

Found MUJI Bamboo looks at the ways that humans have learnt to work with this material. Even in very different cultures around the world, the nature of bamboo lends itself to be treated in similar processes and techniques. With an increasing concern for sustainability, revisiting such ways of dealing with the material might provide hints towards how bamboo can be potentially used in the future.


Cutting

The hollow core of the bamboo means making cuts is easier compared to the solid trunks of trees. When strategically cut, bamboo can transform into sturdy vessels. Cutting against the grain of the culm, the compressive strength is retained. When it is cut lengthways, channels can be formed allowing water to flow from the mountains, supplying the village homes below.


Splitting

Splitting bamboo is as simple as running a blade along a cut grain and sliding it across lengthways. The structure of bamboo allows it be split into strips, sticks and thin rod pieces of different sizes without compromising on its strength and flexibility. To make precise and consistent strips for purposes such as weaving, further refinement is required. Such parts are usually prepared beforehand and are stockpiled until needed.


Bending

The bamboo culm is composed of long, dense fibres which makes it strong against snapping even when bent. This quality allows it to be shaped freely without the use of extra parts. Bent bamboo often make up the rims and handles of baskets, dictating the forms of such items.

Thinner strands go through constant bending twisting during the weaving process, so it is often soaked in water prior to weaving. Larger pieces can be heat treated to make the bamboo more supple for bending. Once it cools down, the bamboo would harden and retain its bent form.


Weaving 

Regardless of the product, weaving is simply combining variations of split bamboo pieces. Whether it is a strong basket or a light mat, this single plant can be manipulated by hand to achieve precise results.

Long before plastic products were available, bamboo was commonly used to weave everyday items. This also means the maker has full control and items can be made to suit individual needs. Perhaps it is because of this customisable aspect, even when modern materials are so readily available there is always a lingering preference for the handmade.


Bamboo on the Table

Bamboo, as a young shoot, can be found in markets as a common ingredient for cooking in many parts of Asia. Bamboo culms can be used as cooking vessels for simple stews and rice. Cooked directly on hot coal, the fragrance of the bamboo would slowly seep into the ingredients. Making use of the different types and sizes of bamboo, tableware can be made with a few, simple cuts.  

Also seen as part of a small baijiu (a Chinese white spirit) distillery for home use, it is said that the liquor would pick up the subtle fragrance of the bamboo. Unlike synthetic materials, bamboo does not last forever, but it is a fast-growing plant and can be returned to nature after use.


Using Bamboo

Here and there, different parts of bamboo can be spotted utilised in all kinds of environments. Whether it is the persistence of ancient wisdoms or that it is still an accessible material for many people, bamboo remains useful and versatile. In the past, it was used for writing before invention of paper, and even as fuel. Though it has been present in the world for thousands of years, the value of this humble plant is again being recognised today, gaining a reputation for being a sustainable natural resource.

All item information and selling prices are subject to in-store display.

Available while stock lasts.

Some items are available at designated stores only.
Found MUJI PMQ
Address:
S107, Block A, PMQ, 35 Aberdeen Street, Central.
Tel:
3971-3138
Opening Hours:
Sat, Sun and Public Holiday 12:00-20:00
MUJI Lee Theatre
Address:
3/F & 4/F, Lee Theatre, 99 Percival Street, Causeway Bay
Tel:
3971-3120
Opening Hours:
11:00 - 22:30
MUJI Telford Plaza
Address:
Shop 401-402, Level 4, Telford Plaza II, Kowloon Bay
Tel:
3973-8380
Opening Hours:
Mon-Fri 11:00 - 22:00
Sat - Sun, Public Holiday and Public Holiday Eve 10:00 - 22:00

2020 © MUJI (Hong Kong) Company Limited. All Rights Reserved. June 2020 Version.

竹是成長速度最快的植物之一,亦是其中一種最強韌的天然素材。竹能以人手輕易加工,廣泛應用於各種用途如建材或製成手工藝品等。各式品種的竹自然生長於世界各地,是很容易取得的天然資源,因此從古至今在不同時代都被加以善用。現今人們使用竹的方法,可說是承繼着前人一點一滴、慢慢精進的技術而來。

是次「Found MUJI竹」將會帶大家認識各地人們從傳統所習得的竹材處理方法。竹的使用遍佈於世界各地,即使文化背景不同,但其加工步驟和技術卻有不少相似之處。在日益重視可持續發展的現今社會,透過重新審視竹材的用法,或許能幫助未來發掘更多竹材的可能性。


竹桿為空心構造,比實心的木頭容易鋸開。在鋸竹的方法上稍加用心,就能將竹桿變成堅固的管子使用。與竹桿的纖維方向呈90度鋸開(沿竹子直徑鋸開),就能維持竹的天然抗壓強度。將竹桿垂直劈開後組合,則可成為水道,從山上引水到村中的每家每戶。


順着竹桿的纖維垂直以刀刃切入,就能簡單將其剖開。藉着這種天然結構,可將竹桿剖成不同粗幼的竹片或竹條,同時不減竹子原有的強韌性及柔軟度。用於編織等較精細的工序時,則需要進一步切割加工,令每片竹材尺寸統一。工匠一般會把用作編織的竹材提前加工準備好,並儲存起來供需要時取用。


彎曲

竹桿的纖維長而密,即使彎曲也不會斷裂,因此不需多餘零件便可靈活製成各種形態的竹製品。竹籃的邊框、手柄等部分都能以竹材彎曲加工製成,並一直維持製成品原來的形狀。

在編織的工序中,細竹條需經過反覆來回扭曲及彎曲,所以一般會事先將其浸於水中軟化。較大片的竹材則可透過加熱令其軟化彎曲,即使回復常溫,也能保持彎曲狀態。


編織

將剖成各種形狀尺寸的竹材組合,就可以編織出種類豐富的物件。從堅固的竹籃到輕盈的竹蓆,簡單一種植物,卻能隨着我們的想法與需要,透過人手變成各式各樣的日用品。

在塑膠製品尚未普及時,竹就被廣泛應用於日常用品中。製作者有相當高的自由度,可根據個人所需製作產品。即使現今有更多先進的素材及生產方式,手工藝品依然深受歡迎,或許正是因為人手製作能因應需要而自由變化。


餐桌上的竹

亞洲各地的市場裡經常可見到竹筍被當作食材售賣;亦有利用竹桿取代鍋具的煮食方法:將食材或米粒放入竹筒內直接置於炭火上烹煮,讓竹的天然香氣慢慢滲透到食材中。另外,不同尺寸的竹也能透過簡單的工藝製成餐具。

據說在中國,部分人會使用竹製的蒸餾器自家釀製白酒,令釀成的酒帶有淡淡竹香。竹材的使用壽命雖然不及人造素材長久,但它是一種成長速度快的植物,而且使用後可以回歸自然。


竹的運用

竹的各個部分均可常見於生活中不同場景。早在古代,竹已是比紙張更早出現的書寫工具,也曾被當成燃料使用。從先人的生活智慧衍生並流傳下來的使用習慣,再加上一直作為隨處可得的資源,令竹至今仍被視為方便且萬用的素材而加以善用。樸實而低調的竹,從數千年前起已存在於世界各地的文化中,直到現今更作為一種可持續發展的天然資源而受到重新認識和關注。

所有商品資料及價格以店內陳列為準。

數量有限,售完即止。

部份商品只限於個別分店發售。
Found MUJI 元創方
地址:
香港中環鴨巴甸街35號A座S107室
電話:
3971-3138
營業時間:
星期日至四 12:00 - 20:00
星期五、六及公眾假期前夕12:00 - 21:00
無印良品 利舞臺
地址:
香港銅鑼灣波斯富街99號利舞臺3樓及4樓
電話:
3971-3200
營業時間:
11:00 - 22:30
無印良品德福廣場
地址:
九龍灣德福廣場2期4樓401-402店
電話:
3973-8380
營業時間:
星期一至五 11:00 – 22:00
星期六、日及公眾假期 10:00 – 22:00

2020 © 無印良品(香港)有限公司。 版權所有 不得轉載。2020年6月版。