Found MUJI Kyrgyzstan

June is the most beautiful time of year in this country. Emerging from endless fields filled with flowers and sheep, the traveller is greeted by the vista of a shimmering lake. Located in Central Asia, the Kyrgyz Republic is landlocked, bordered by several countries, and home to multiple ethnicities with strong Russian cultural influences. With around 40% of the country situated at an altitude over 3,000 metres, Kyrgyzstan is known as the Alps of Central Asia for its rich natural beauty, comfortable climate, and lack of deserts.

The families living in the scattered villages near Lake Issyk-Kul, which is said to have been part of the Silk Road, have been making living through nomadic pastoralism and the production of wool felt since ancient times.

The MUJI and Kyrgyzstan revitalisation project, which began at the end of 2010, is celebrating its 10th anniversary of collaboration in bringing Kyrgyz goods to the market. In Found MUJI Kyrgyzstan, we look closely at the wisdom found in the traditional nomadic life and feature the handcrafted felt items produced here.


Animals and Nomads

The nomads of Kyrgyzstan always live with sheep. They eat the meat, and use the fat of these sheep. Each year when the warm weather arrives, it is sheep shearing time. The wool is used in clothing, yurta walls, rugs, and children’s toys. Felt is an integral part of daily life here.

Situated 1600 metres above sea level, the Lake Issyk-Kul area, although it is bitterly cold in winter, it has little annual rainfall and many sunny days. This pleasant climate is suitable for the living of sheep and other types of animals as well.

Petroglyph rock paintings of animal images are found throughout Kyrgyzstan. Believed to date from around 2000 BC to 7th century AD, the petroglyphs depict an array of animals, including sheep, camels, dogs, goats, argalis and yaks. Besides animals, the paintings also feature warriors and dancers, indicating that people here have been living with animals since ancient times.

Local animals and petroglyphs also inspire the felt crafts made in this region. All of the wool used, including the soft Merino wool, comes from Kyrgyz sheep.

There are two techniques for felting wool. The first technique is needle felting. Using this technique, the wool is poked with the serrated tip of a needle until the fibres bond together to form felt. The second technique is wet felting. Heat, pressure and an alkaline solution create felt when wool is soaked in soapy water and rubbed by hands. Remarkably, these handcraft techniques bond the wool fibres together so well that no sewing is needed to create such strong, durable wool felt.


Living with Felt

Most felt artisans in the region are women. Each village is home to its own felt workshop, which rings with lively conversation all day. These workshops are both a place of work and a place of community.

The felt making process takes much time, and the meticulous steps are carefully divided into individual tasks in an assembly line. The finished products are precise in their size, texture, and strength, reflecting the master craftsmanship of these women who support their families with these skills. These women enjoy their handcrafting so much that their passion makes these workshops lively places.

Felt can be formed into any shape, whether flat or three-dimensional, and tailored to specific purposes. This material is also used for daily goods such as cushions and rugs, as well as hats, slippers, and accessories — even for the walls of the portable yurta in which nomadic people live. The felt from Kyrgyzstan may be left with its natural colour or dyed using local plant materials. A wide variety of plant-based dyes are used, including walnut, madder, woad, onion, and holy clover.

In the evenings, with only felt seat cushions left behind by the craftsmen, the workshops return to silence. After a day of handcrafting, the women return home to prepare dinner for their families. The workshops will be filled with laughter again in the morning.


Yurta Living

The Kyrgyz yurta is light and well suited for transport. Larger homes here can be up to 9 metres in diameter, but even these can be assembled in about 2 hours without the use of nails. The outer wall coverings and interior flooring are made of felt, keeping the yurta cool in the summer and warm in the winter. The door, floor, and ropes that hold it together are adorned with traditional patterns called oimo. These patterns symbolises prosperity for the family and divine blessings.

Nomads herd their animals from place to place as the weather changes through the rainy season, the summer, and the cold winter. Although fewer and fewer Kyrgyz lead nomadic lives today, the wisdom that comes from a lifestyle in harmony with nature and animals still has much to teach us.

The large rug inside the yurta is called a shyrdak. These are covered in oimo patterns unique to each tribe and family. The shyrdak is still in use today in farmhouses and other dwellings in Kyrgyzstan, and the interconnected pieces of thick felt create flooring that is strong and durable enough to last for many years.

Oimo patterns also adorn the traditional felt hat worn by men, the karpak. According to custom, passing your karpak to another person or placing it on the floor is considered poor manners. For this reason, these hats are carefully hung on the inner frame of the yurta wall. It is said that the shape of the karpak is inspired by the mountain ranges in Kyrgyzstan.


Hospitality at the Table

In Kyrgyzstan, inviting people into one’s home and showing hospitality with food is considered a virtue. Guests are served with colourful dishes influenced by Russian and Uzbek cuisines. The traditional style of sitting on the floor for a meal is still followed in many homes today. Not just a vestige of traditional nomadic life, floor dining culture continues to be popular as it is more convenient than a table for accommodating the changing number of people who dine together.

In multi-ethnic Kyrgyzstan, gatherings of relatives and friends include people from many different backgrounds. At any given time, people of Russian, Uzbek, and Dungan descent may be invited to share a meal.

A distinctive feature of Kyrgyz dining is the glassware. Etched in glittering patterns, glass is prevalent in every home and is a symbol of hospitality. With its long, severe winters, fruits harvested in the summer here are made into jam and preserved for winter meals. The Kyrgyz table features any number of dessert glasses filled with apricot, raspberry, and sea buckthorn berry jams, as well as homemade juices, butter, and honey.

At festivals, celebrations, and gatherings of relatives and friends, a small loaf of bread is laid directly on the tablecloth. This bread, called boorsok, symbolises abundant blessings. It is made from flour, yeast, water, salt, margarine, eggs, and milk. For sweet boorsok, sugar is added. The dough is kneaded, cut into diamond shapes in 5mm thick, and deep fried. This bread has a gentle, mild taste.


All item information and selling prices are subject to in-store display.

Available while stock lasts.

Some items are available at designated stores only.
MUJI Lee Theatre
Address:
3/F & 4/F, Lee Theatre, 99 Percival Street, Causeway Bay
Tel:
3971-3120
Opening Hours:
Store Business Hours Latest Adjustment
MUJI Telford Plaza
Address:
Shop 401-402, Level 4, Telford Plaza II, Kowloon Bay
Tel:
3973-8380
Opening Hours:
Store Business Hours Latest Adjustment

2021 © MUJI (Hong Kong) Company Limited. All Rights Reserved. Jan 2021 Version.

Found MUJI 吉爾吉斯

6月是吉爾吉斯最美的季節,穿過綿延不絕的花田及羊群後,映入眼簾的是波光粼粼的湖面。位於中亞的吉爾吉斯共和國,是一個毗鄰多個國家的內陸國,為深受俄羅斯文化所影響的多民族國家。國土面積約40%超過海拔3000米,境內沒有沙漠,氣候良好,並擁有壯麗的自然景色,被稱為中亞的阿爾卑斯。

伊塞克湖為絲綢之路的途經地,在周邊零星村莊中聚居的人們自古以來以遊牧及生產羊毛氈為生。

無印良品自2010年末開始,便與吉爾吉斯合作進行地區活化計劃,令更多人接觸到吉爾吉斯的手工藝品。藉着計劃踏入第十周年,Found MUJI吉爾吉斯將再次發掘當地自古以來的遊牧民族智慧,為你介紹以人手細心製成的羊毛氈日用品。


動物與遊牧民族

吉爾吉斯遊牧民族的生活與羊隻密不可分,除食用羊肉外,也會使用羊油,到了每年的溫暖季節,就會進行剪羊毛的工作。被剪下來的羊毛,可以製成衣物、帳篷、毯子及孩童們的玩具。對當地人而言,羊毛氈已自然融入生活之中。

在伊塞克湖一帶海拔1600米的高地,雖然冬天嚴寒,但由於年雨量少且天氣多為晴朗,所以適合羊群與其他各種動物居住。

在吉爾吉斯各地均能發現刻有動物圖形的岩石,這些相信是公元前2000年至7世紀左右所繪的Petroglyphs(岩畫)上,描繪着羊、駱駝、狗、山羊、盤羊、氂牛等動物圖案。動物旁亦不時會有戰士、舞者等人物,反映古代人們與動物共存的生活面貌。

當地人以動物及岩畫的圖案為原型製作羊毛氈,所使用的羊毛都產自吉爾吉斯的羊,其中也包括柔軟的美利奴羊毛。 要將羊毛製成羊毛氈有兩種方法。一種是針氈法,使用前端帶有倒刺的針反覆戳刺,令羊毛纖維互相纏結,從而達至氈化效果。另一種是濕氈法,將羊毛浸泡在肥皂水中搓揉,利用熱力、壓力和鹼性成分來使纖維縮絨化。利用這兩種方法以手工製成的羊毛氈,最大的特色就是無縫合線,僅靠着纖維互相纏結,就能製造出耐用的羊毛氈。


與羊毛氈的生活

製作羊毛氈的工匠幾乎都是當地的女性,每個村莊都設有工坊,白天在這裡可以聽到婦女們愉快的談笑聲。工坊既是工作地點,也是地區的社交場所。

羊毛氈的製作過程相當耗時,還需透過仔細分工和流水線的作業方式來精確地完成作品。支撐家計的女性工匠技藝純熟,不論是在成品尺寸、質感風格、耐用程度等,都能呈現準確統一的美感,實在讓人難以相信是以純手工製成。女性工匠們對手工作業的熱情和喜愛,為工坊帶來朝氣活力。

羊毛氈不受形狀所限,能按照用途塑造成各種從平面到立體、不同形狀的物品。除了用來擺放小物的盛器外,從靠墊、地毯等日常用品,到帽子、拖鞋等服飾配件,以至遊牧民族的移動式帳篷「Yurta」,都能使用羊毛氈。除原色羊毛外,以吉爾吉斯植物染色的羊毛氈也很常見。當地常用的植物染料包括核桃、茜草、菘藍(woad)、洋蔥、三葉草等。

到了傍晚,工坊恢復寧靜,僅留下座位上的一張張氈絨座墊。結束工作後的女性們回到家中,開始為家人準備晚餐。到了早上,工坊又將會充斥着笑聲。


Yurta的生活

吉爾吉斯遊牧民族的移動式帳篷「Yurta」重量輕巧,便於搬運。大型帳篷直徑可達9米,但組裝時不需使用釘子,且只需約兩小時就可以完成組裝。外層與地墊均以羊毛氈製成,讓帳篷成為冬暖夏涼的生活空間。門上、地毯上及繩帶上都帶有稱為「Oimo」的傳統圖案,象徵家族成長及神的祝福。

遊牧民族因應雨季、夏季以及寒冷的冬季,帶着許多動物一起到處遷徙。現時遊牧民族的數量雖已減少,但從他們與大自然及動物共存的生活智慧中,能夠學習到許多知識。

「Yurta」中鋪有被稱為「Shyrdak」的大地毯。佈滿地毯上的「Oimo」圖案會因應部族和家族而變化,每一張都是獨一無二。「Shyrdak」亦常見於現今吉爾吉斯的農家中,是以數張厚羊毛氈鋪成,其耐用度可長達數年。

「Oimo」也繪於當地傳統的男性氈絨帽「Karpak」上。在自古以來的習俗中,如果將自己的「Karpak」交給他人或放在地上都是不當行為,所以當地人會將「Karpak」慎重地掛在「Yurta」內牆的骨架上。據說帽子的形狀是仿照吉爾吉斯山脈而來。


豐盛的餐桌

吉爾吉斯人認為以料理在家中款客是一種美德。當地人會以具俄羅斯及烏茲別克斯坦風味、色彩繽紛的料理來招待訪客。而將料理放於地面享用的傳統習俗,時至今日也常見於現代家庭中。有指這習俗是從居住在「Yurta」時的習慣演變而成,但也有說法指因為每次用餐的人數不同,因此在地上用餐比使用餐桌更方便。

在多民族國家吉爾吉斯,當親朋好友聚餐時,不時會出現俄羅斯、烏茲別克斯坦、東干族等不同種族的人圍在一起聚餐的情景。

玻璃餐具是吉爾吉斯餐桌上的特色之一。帶有晶亮圖案的玻璃,是每個當地家庭餐桌上必備的器皿,也是款待的象徵。吉爾吉斯有着漫長的嚴寒冬季,人們會將夏天所收穫的水果製成果醬,作為冬天的常備食品。在餐桌上排列的眾多點心玻璃杯上,盛載着杏桃、覆盆子、沙棘等的果醬,還有自製的果汁、奶油、蜂蜜等。


所有商品資料及價格以店內陳列為準。

數量有限,售完即止。

部份商品只限於個別分店發售。
無印良品 利舞臺
地址:
香港銅鑼灣波斯富街99號利舞臺3樓及4樓
電話:
3971-3200
營業時間:
店舖營業時間最新調整
無印良品德福廣場
地址:
九龍灣德福廣場2期4樓401-402店
電話:
3973-8380
營業時間:
店舖營業時間最新調整

2021 © 無印良品(香港)有限公司。 版權所有 不得轉載。2021年1月版。