Found MUJI Paper

Paper goes hand in hand with life in Japan, as it is used widely in settings such as painting, drawing, writing, wrapping. It can also be seen in traditional Japanese homes, on sliding fusuma doors that partition spaces and the shoji screens that let natural light filter through. In addition, an array of different types of paper are continually being developed to meet the changing demands. Certain factors including the available resources or specific needs of a locale has had influence on the various productions. Paper types today range from the regional handcrafted to the industrial-use varieties, while there are also types which have been developed using advanced technology.

Found MUJI Paper visits areas in Japan where such paper types are produced. With their unique characteristics, each paper type has been considered and shaped into useful items which can be used in daily life.


Watermarked Paper
Echizen City, Fukui Prefecture

Echizen has a history of paper-making that spans over 1500 years. It was here that the watermarking technique used in banknotes and gift certificates was developed. Watermarked paper, which have designs that show through when held up to the light, is made by layering plain paper with paper containing the pattern. Lined paper produced with the watermarking technique feels different to paper with printed lines.


Mizumomigami
Echizen City, Fukui Prefecture

Mizumomigami is a type of paper used for fusuma doors that features patterns with special characteristics. Glue is applied to the paper before being crumpled and kneaded in dye. This brings out the wrinkled patterns that is deeply imbued in colour. Forming such patterns in a uniform manner without tearing the paper is a challenging task, and only a handful of artisans are able to craft the paper this way. The strength of this paper makes it suitable not for interior design alone, but for paper crafts as well.


Rakusuishi / Mizukirigami
Echizen City, Fukui Prefecture

Sprays of water are applied to the thinly spread out pulp to yield the delicate, lacey patterns of rakusuishi. The organic patterns formed by the sprays of water will not result in the same patterns each time. This technique is also used for crafting fine sheets of paper for wrapping traditional Japanese confectionery, however it can also be utilised in interior spaces as well gift wrapping.


Momigami
Ayabe City, Kyoto Prefecture

By uniformly rubbing a paste made of konnyaku into a kind of paper made of mulberry bark called kozo, it makes the tough paper easier to work with. There was even a time when momigami, which can be sewn like cloth, was used to make garments. The process to make this kind of paper involves repetitive hand-kneading for around 10 minutes, which results in a look that can only be obtained from natural materials and hand-crafting.


Paper Cloth
Mino City, Gifu Prefecture

Cloths woven with paper thread feels cool and light. Akin to hemp, this sensation is possible because thread made from paper is resistant to fluffing and pilling. Furthermore, the thread weighs just one-third that of cotton thread. Cotton is used for the warp threads and paper for the weft - this combination results in a cloth that is suitable for the summer season.


Paper String
Fuji City, Shizuoka Prefecture

Paper string is made by the intertwining of paper tape. The twisting process uses a wooden apparatus, which requires pressure adjustments since paper is a delicate material. Narrow paper tape is twisted to make fine string, and thicker types are made from broader widths. This kind of paper string is suitable for a wide range of uses, from bag handles to packaging ropes.


Paper Bands
Fuji City, Shizuoka Prefecture

Paper bands are a type of packaging material developed in Japan in the 1950s. Shortly after the war, a time when wooden crates and ties for transporting goods around Japan were scarce, people turned to paper as a solution and eventually paper bands were developed. It is still in use today, for example as part of the packaging for rice and grain. Around ten strands of paper string are arranged and glued together flat, making a band that can withstand dozens of kilograms. Paper bands are popular as materials for crafting as well, while baskets made of this material feature both sturdiness and the supple quality of paper.


Embossed Paper
Tamba City, Hyogo Prefecture

Pressing a metal die against paper yields an evenly contoured texture. An uneven surface creates a layer of air, giving it a cushioning function. For this reason, it has been used industrially as packaging for moving, to wrap large items such as mannequins and also factory materials.


Paper with Diamond-Patterned Threading
Tamba City, Hyogo Prefecture

This type of paper is made by resin threads arranged in a diamond pattern interlaced between two sheets of paper, which is then bound together. The points where the threads intersect become resistant to tearing, making this type of paper strong enough for items such as sacks used when moving and for wrapping textiles. At the Tamba production site, a range of different paper production processes are carried out including waxing and embossing.


Crepe Paper
Sennan City, Osaka Prefecture

A form of paper with tiny creases intended for industrial uses, such as for wrapping electric cables as well as iron or steel items. “Crepe” signifies the wrinkled texture or creasing in the paper and such creasing gives the paper elasticity, which is especially useful for wrapping round items. In addition, polyethylene processing on the reverse side adds water and damp-proof qualities to the paper, protecting the wrapped items from rust. Taking advantage of these characteristics, gusseted bags made from crepe paper could be useful in many ways.


All item information and selling prices are subject to in-store display.

Available while stock lasts.

Some items are available at designated stores only.
Found MUJI PMQ
Address:
S107, Block A, PMQ, 35 Aberdeen Street, Central.
Tel:
3971-3138
Opening Hours:
Store Business Hours Latest Adjustment
MUJI Lee Theatre
Address:
3/F & 4/F, Lee Theatre, 99 Percival Street, Causeway Bay
Tel:
3971-3120
Opening Hours:
Store Business Hours Latest Adjustment
MUJI Telford Plaza
Address:
Shop 401-402, Level 4, Telford Plaza II, Kowloon Bay
Tel:
3973-8380
Opening Hours:
Store Business Hours Latest Adjustment

2020 © MUJI (Hong Kong) Company Limited. All Rights Reserved. Oct 2020 Version.

Found MUJI 紙

日本人的生活與紙張息息相關,例如在傳統日式建築中,房子的隔扇及用作採光的帳子門均採用紙張作素材。除此之外,於繪圖、書寫、包裝等各種生活場景亦會用到紙張。隨着時代發展,各種各樣的紙張應運而生 — 手造紙、工業用紙,以及採用高科技製成的紙等,無論是因為製作地區的資源或需求,每種紙張的誕生均有着相關的故事。

是次Found MUJI於日本各地尋訪各種紙張,並發揮每款紙張的特色,製成相應的日用品,融入日常生活。


印水紋紙
福井縣 越前市

越前市早於1500年前開始發展製紙業,亦是印水紋技術的發源地。透過重疊普通紙張及帶有圖案的紙張,製成透過光線折射就能展現的印水紋紙,常用於鈔票及禮券等。應用這種技巧,將印水紋呈現於信紙的橫線之上,帶來與一般印刷品截然不同的風格。


水揉紙
福井縣 越前市

水揉紙是其中一種襖(即隔扇)用紙,表面呈獨特圖案。塗上膠水後,將襖紙放於染料中搓揉,受搓揉而皺起的位置會吸收較多染料而得出圖案。為確保圖案能均勻呈現,以及於搓揉過程中保護紙張纖維不受破壞,工序繁複困難,因此製作水揉紙的職人數目少之又少。經揉製而成的紙張具良好韌度,除了常用於室內設計,亦常見於紙品工藝。


落水紙 / 瀝水紙
福井縣 越前市

完成製紙工序後,於紙張上方灑水,令紙張表面留下自然形成的圖案,每個均獨一無二。瀝水紙常用作日式和菓子包裝用的薄紙,後來亦逐漸應用至家居裝飾與禮品包裝等。


皺紋紙
京都府 綾部市

以構樹為原料製成,具良好韌度的紙張。加入以蒟蒻製成的黏合劑,經搓揉後成為便於加工的皺紋紙。皺紋紙可用於縫製,曾有一段時期被視作布匹一樣,用於紙製服飾。透過搓揉約10分鐘,並於製作時不斷轉換搓揉方向,呈現天然素材及人手製作的獨特質感。


紙棉織
岐阜縣 美濃市

以紙線織成的布料輕盈,重量只有以棉紗所織布料的三分之一;膚觸如麻質素材般清爽,且不易起毛。經線採用棉紗,緯線採用紙線編織而成的布料,尤適合用於製作夏季布藝用品。


再造紙繩
靜岡縣 富士市

以紙條為素材製成的紙繩,一般使用木製機器進行捻繩工序;紙張纖維幼細,木製機器能令紙張自然彎曲。利用闊度不同的紙條分別捻出不同粗幼的紙繩,可製成袋子的手挽或用於綑綁等,用途廣泛。


再造紙帶
靜岡縣 富士市

紙帶是1950年代於日本誕生的包裝材料。於戰後物資匱乏的情況下,用作運送的木箱及綁繩的材料有限,紙張因此受到重視,並演變成紙帶。將約十條捻好的紙繩平鋪然後塗上膠水製成的紙帶,可負重數十公斤,時至今日仍用於製作米袋,盛載米或穀物等。另外,紙帶也是常見的手工藝品材料,以其製成的籃子堅固耐用,同時亦兼具紙張獨有的柔滑質感。


壓花紙
兵庫縣 丹波市

使用金屬模具於紙張上添加壓力,製成排列整齊的凹凸紋理,形成空氣層,有緩衝作用。其表面的凹凸能作為緩衝,減輕紙張與空氣的磨擦,因此被廣泛應用於各種大型物件的包裝材料,常用於搬運行李、人型模特兒、工廠用的生產材料等。表面採用牛皮紙,內層採用壓花紙製成的紙袋,方便日常使用。


纖維紙
兵庫縣 丹波市

於兩張紙之間將樹脂製成的紗線以菱形排列,貼合後製成纖維紙。線條交錯部分具良好韌度,有助防止紙張裂開,因此適合搬家或包裝棉被、布匹等時使用。除了製紙,丹波的工廠亦一併進行上蠟、壓花等各式加工工序。


再造紙
大阪府 泉南市

這款工業用再造紙表面呈幼細紋理,常用於包裹電線及鋼鐵等。英文名稱「Crepe」帶有皺紋、縐褶之意,其表面皺紋為紙張帶來良好伸縮性,因此適用於綑綁表面彎曲的鋼鐵柱子。為了保護內裡包覆的鋼鐵,再造紙的內側施以聚乙烯防水加工,令鋼鐵不易生銹。將再造紙製成底部寬闊的紙袋,就是為了發揮這項特性,令其用途更加廣泛。


所有商品資料及價格以店內陳列為準。

數量有限,售完即止。

部份商品只限於個別分店發售。
Found MUJI 元創方
地址:
香港中環鴨巴甸街35號A座S107室
電話:
3971-3138
營業時間:
店舖營業時間最新調整
無印良品 利舞臺
地址:
香港銅鑼灣波斯富街99號利舞臺3樓及4樓
電話:
3971-3200
營業時間:
店舖營業時間最新調整
無印良品德福廣場
地址:
九龍灣德福廣場2期4樓401-402店
電話:
3973-8380
營業時間:
店舖營業時間最新調整

2020 © 無印良品(香港)有限公司。 版權所有 不得轉載。2020年10月版。