UTSUWA – Japanese Tableware

Crafted at sites scattered throughout the country, the pottery of Japan shows some of the most varied range of features and designs in the world.

Pottery has a long history in Japan with earthenware production stretching back as far as the ancient Jomon period (around 16000 years ago). With the introduction of ceramic production techniques from China and the Korean Peninsula, came a diverse range of wares crafted by such techniques. The discovery of porcelain stone in the Edo period (1603–1868) led to the production of porcelain, and since kilns tended to utilise the natural environment and available resources, wares that reflect its surroundings began to flourish. Exploring the many crafting locations all over Japan reveals a fascinating range of tools, clay and techniques used, even though similar types of everyday tableware are produced at the different kilns.

Since 2012, Found MUJI Aoyama has featured pottery from ten kilns in Japan. This time, we revisit four of the ten regions: Mashiko ware from Tochigi Prefecture, Banko ware from Mie Prefecture, Tobe ware from Ehime Prefecture and Hagi ware from Yamaguchi Prefecture.


Mashiko ware (Mashiko, Tochigi Prefecture)

In the northeastern part of the Kanto Plain lies the town of Mashiko. There are views of Mount Amamaki, Haga-Fuji and other mountains beyond the expanse of fields and rice paddies. Sue ware, a type of ancient earthenware, was made in Mashiko in the 7th century. However, production of pottery went obsolete for a time, and revived in the late Edo period in the same region. Mashiko clay is sandy and gritty with a low viscosity, and wares made from it tended to be fragile and have a weightiness. For this reason, the clay was mostly used for making everyday kitchen items such as earthenware jars, mortar bowls and teapots for the common people. Today, the clay used has been refined to suit tableware production. With the advent of the Japanese folk craft movement advocated by figures such as Soetsu Yanagi and Shoji Hamada who moved to the area in 1924, Mashiko ware came to be known widely as folk art pieces as well as wares for daily use.

Cooperatives in Mashiko extract local clay and blend this with clay that is well-suited for tableware. Here, over 5,000 pieces of pottery are produced monthly. Shaping is done using mechanical wheels, with all the stages leading up to glaze firing all done by hand.


Banko ware (Komono, Mie Prefecture)

An expanse of rice fields spreads out at the foot of the Suzuka Mountains in the town of Komono. This is one of the sites where Banko ware, produced primarily in northern Mie Prefecture, is crafted. Famous for its heat resistance, Banko tableware accounts for about 80% of the donabe earthenware pots produced in Japan. While Banko ware has been produced here for over 300 years, it did not initially have such properties. Research into forms of such clay was carried out as people’s ways of living changed. Between the mid-1950s and mid-1960s a form of feldspar called petalite came to be blended with the clay, perfecting the heat-resistant clay mix used today.

Pottery casted on a mechanical wheel is shaped individually by hand up to its final form. After the initial biscuit firing at 750–800°C, items are glaze fired at about 1250°C. The number of blocks placed at the opening of the kiln is adjusted to regulate the oxygen flow, according to the season and weather at the time of firing. With a sense for the work honed over many years, adjustments are made continuously during firing.


Tobe ware (Tobe, Ehime Prefecture)

Nestled in the mountains towards the interior of the Dogo Plain is the town of Tobe, about a 40-minute drive from the city of Matsuyama where Mount Shoji can be seen. Local pottery is decorated with gosu, a cobalt pigment, and characterised by its thickness and a weightiness. While the area originally produced earthenware, porcelain came to be crafted over 240 years ago, making use of scraps of the locally-extracted iyoto (whetstones). The tradition is being kept alive with around 100 kilns in operation today.

The arabesque designs of Tobe ware originate from the Japanese folk craft movement between the mid-1940s to the mid-1960s. The original Tobe ware had featured intricate decorations until the expansive single-stroke technique became popular and is now the symbolic design that is known today.

An item unique to Tobe ware is a type of bowl called tamabuchi-bachi. After the initial casting, the bowls are shaped to feature thick, rounded rim shapes. This makes the weighty tableware easy to hold, and prevents slipping.


Hagi ware (Hagi, Yamaguchi Prefecture)

Facing the Sea of Japan is the city of Hagi. The many flat outlying islands are a result of volcanic eruptions. Mishima-tsuchi, the clay indispensable to making Hagi ware, is extracted from one of the outlying Mishima Islands.

Hagi ware has a history dating back around 400 years, with kilns first built for the official use of the Mori clan, a samurai family. This type of pottery is popular and widely used in the form of tea bowls. Hagi ware often has a simple unadorned look so to bring out the character of the clays used, which are primarily the white, finely-textured daido-tsuchi and the red, iron-rich mishima-tsuchi. Another feature of Hagi ware is the “notched foot” design for their tea bowls. Various explanations have been given for this, from being an indication that it is approved for use by the common people, to simply being a figurative design. Though the truth is unclear, the notched foot remains a notable feature of Hagi ware.


All item information and selling prices are subject to in-store display.

Available while stock lasts.

Some items are available at designated stores only.
Found MUJI PMQ
Address:
S107, Block A, PMQ, 35 Aberdeen Street, Central.
Tel:
3971-3138
Opening Hours:
Store Business Hours Latest Adjustment

2020 © MUJI (Hong Kong) Company Limited. All Rights Reserved. May 2020 Version.

日本之器

在各出產陶器的國家之中,日本的陶器產地遍佈全國各地,亦各具特色和風情。

日本製作陶瓷的歷史悠久,可追溯至繩文時代。其後從中國及朝鮮半島傳入的各種製陶技術,為日本的陶器帶來了各式各樣的變化;到了江戶時代(1603至1868年間),更因瓷石的發現而展開了瓷器的生產。不同地區運用當地的自然環境及資源,將窯業持續發展至今;各個窯場製作的日常餐具,亦因使用的工具、陶土及技術不同,而有着不一樣的魅力。

Found MUJI青山自2012年開始,已介紹過十個日本陶瓷產地的器具。是次我們重訪其中四個產地,為大家帶來栃木縣益子燒、三重縣萬古燒、愛媛縣砥部燒,以及山口縣萩燒這四種各具特色的陶器。


益子燒(栃木縣・益子町)

位於關東平原東北部的益子町有着廣闊的農田,並背靠雨卷山及芳賀富士等山巒。當地早於7世紀開始製作的「須惠器」(陶器)曾一度停產,直到江戶時代末期才得以復興。以含沙量高且黏性低的益子土所製作的器具易碎且沉重,因此最初只能成為一般平民廚房中的器具如鍋、研磨缽、茶壺等,直至人們開始於製陶時在益子土中加入適合製作餐具的陶土,益子燒的用途才變得更加廣泛。後來,適逢柳宗悅及1924年移居至此的濱田庄司等人所提倡的「民藝運動」,益子燒遂由日常器具發展為民藝品,亦因此更具知名度。

益子的合作社於當地採集陶土,再調配成適合製作餐具的土質。在這裡,每月的益子燒產量可達5000件以上。雖然益子燒以機械轆轤成形,但入窯前的所有工序都必須以人手完成。


萬古燒(三重縣・菰野町)

背靠鈴鹿山脈,有着廣闊稻田景色的菰野町,是以三重縣北部為生產中心的萬古燒產地之一。以耐熱聞名的萬古燒,當中土鍋在日本市場佔約80%。萬古燒誕生於約300年前,最初並未生產耐熱陶器。隨着生活方式的改變,人們對耐熱陶土的研究逐漸增加,並在昭和30年代(1955至1964年間)開始於陶土中加入葉長石,才成為了今天常用的耐熱陶土。

以機械轆轤成形的器具,需逐一經手工削磨塑形,然後以750℃至800℃素燒,再以大約1250℃進行釉燒。隨季節及天氣轉變,窯內氧氣量會有所不同。為了保持理想的燃燒溫度,製陶工匠會憑着長年累積的經驗,不斷調整窯口的磚塊數目,以控制流入窯內的氧氣量。


砥部燒(愛媛縣・砥部町)

從松山市內往道後平原駕駛約40分鐘,會抵達可遙望障子山的山間地帶,該處就是砥部町的所在地。砥部燒是厚實且具重量感的白色瓷器,表面大多帶有以藍色吳須染料繪成的花紋。這裡本來是陶器的產地,但自240多年前使用當地開採的「伊予砥」(磨刀石)碎屑作原料起,便開展了瓷器的生產。當地現今仍有超過100個窯場,傳承着製瓷的傳統。

砥部燒的唐草圖案源自昭和20至30年代(1945年至1964年間)民藝運動的提倡者。在此以前,砥部燒表面多以纖細的圖案作為裝飾。由於唐草只需一筆便能完成,而且圖案簡潔大方,便漸成為砥部燒的代表圖案。

另外,名為「玉緣缽」的碗也是砥部燒的代表器具。成形後透過調整碗口的厚度來呈現出圓潤外型,既保留砥部燒特有的重量感,亦能兼具方便拿取且不易滑脫的優點。


萩燒(山口縣・萩市)

面向日本海的山口縣萩市,周邊有許多因火山爆發而形成的小島,見島就是其中之一。從見島上採集的見島土,是萩燒不可或缺的原料。

於大約400年前作為武士家族毛利家的御用窯而開始發展的萩燒,以茶具聞名於世。萩燒以白而纖細的大道土及含豐富鐵質的見島紅土為主要原料,不加圖案裝飾的樸素外觀,能展現陶土原有的質感。另外,萩燒亦有將「高台」(陶器底部)削出切口的特色,當中的緣由眾說紛紜,其中一說是為了辨別准許平民使用的器具,亦有一說指這是茶陶的造型特色。雖然無法得知真正的原因,但這特色仍一直保留至今。


所有商品資料及價格以店內陳列為準。

數量有限,售完即止。

部份商品只限於個別分店發售。
Found MUJI 元創方
地址:
香港中環鴨巴甸街35號A座S107室
電話:
3971-3138
營業時間:
店舖營業時間最新調整

2020 © 無印良品(香港)有限公司。 版權所有 不得轉載。2020年5月版。